You can make a difference in Transylvania County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Meet Ken and Layne Racht

Every community needs visionaries who imagine a better tomorrow. Isabel Nichols and her dream to create a fund that would forever meet the changing needs of Transylvania County caught our attention. By making a legacy commitment to the Transylvania Endowment, we are honored to stand with her in a continuing promise of philanthropy for our beloved community.

How to Donate

Donate online or send a check made out to "CFWNC" with "Transylvania Endowment" in the memo line to the address below. (Please note that checks not made out to CFWNC may be returned.)

Mail checks to:

P.O. Box 2334
Brevard, NC 28712-2334
: Transylvania Endowment

Or contact Advisory Board Chair John Goins at (828) 674-4460.

The Isabel Nichols Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity,

The Isabel Nichols Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution. Isabel Nichols Society members who have formally informed us in writing that they wish their membership to be listed publicly include:

  • Mary Elizabeth Bailey*
  • David Burchfield
  • Sara Champion
  • Elizabeth R. Craig
  • William Harper
  • William R. and Sherry G. Minnich
  • John Nichols*
  • Ken and Layne Racht
  • David W. and Sara B. Sowersby
  • Aleen Steinberg

* deceased

Since 1998, the Transylvania Endowment, in partnership with The Community Foundation, has awarded 112 grants totaling $1,018,389.

Thanks to Our Donors (7/1/2018 - 6/30/2019)

  • Mr. and Mrs. William S. Alexander
  • Ms. Karla S. Atkinson
  • Ms. Judith Baghose
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Bailey
  • Mrs. John W. Bicknell
  • Mr. and Mrs. Clyde H. Biddle
  • Mr. Don Bieger and Ms. Dori Miller
  • Mr. and Mrs. Charles Butz
  • Mr. Larry Catuzzi
  • Mr. and Mrs. Mike Comer
  • Mr. and Mrs. M. Henry Day Jr.
  • Ms. Sandra T. Dillon
  • Mr. and Mrs. John Franklin
  • Mr. and Mrs. James P. Furniss Jr.
  • Mr. and Mrs. John Goins
  • Mr. and Ms. Casey L. Gunnell
  • Mr. and Mrs. W. Andrew Harvill
  • Mr. and Mrs. Ford Heacock
  • Rev. Kenneth Henry
  • Dr. and Mrs. James L. Holimon
  • Dr. and Mrs. Troy H. Hutchinson II
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bill Jackson
  • Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Jerome
  • Mr. and Mrs. Don Jordan
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jon Kilgore
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Kirkman
  • Mr. and Mrs. Larry Klein
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Kline
  • Ms. Barbara C. Kopp
  • Mr. Jean Lafrance and Mrs. Kate Lafrance
  • Mr. and Mrs. Scott A. Latell
  • Dr. and Mrs. Mark S. Lemel
  • Mr. and Mrs. J. Ronald Miller
  • Dr. and Mrs. Brian Mitchell
  • Ms. Elizabeth R. Mitchell
  • Mrs. Martha R. Ohaus
  • Mr. and Mrs. Eugene A. Peterman
  • Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth G. Racht
  • Mr. and Mrs. Gayle E. Ramsey
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Rogow
  • Mr. and Mrs. Randy Rush
  • Mr. and Mrs. Robin Saul
  • Mr. and Mrs. Mark Shevory
  • Mr. and Mrs. Eugene Stewart
  • Mr. and Mrs. Andreas Stonick
  • Mr. and Mrs. Tom Wakefield
  • Mr. Paul Welch and Dr. Judy Welch
  • Ms. Virginia Williams

Contact Sheryl Aikman for more information about the Foundation’s Affiliate Program.