You can make a difference in Yancey County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Meet Howell Hammond

Beverly and I are proud to call Yancey County our home. First attracted by the mountains, the beautiful countryside and the mild summer climate, as each year has passed we have become more and more appreciative of the people, the history and the culture of arts and farming. We became interested in helping those in need and preserving the unique culture and the natural resources of our new home. That is why I included The Yancey Fund as a beneficiary in my IRA.

How to Donate

Donate online or send a check made out to "CFWNC" with "Yancey Fund" in the memo line to the address below. (Please note that checks not made out to CFWNC may be returned.)

Mail checks to:

P.O. Box 966
Burnsville, NC 28714-0966

Memo: Yancey Fund

For more information, email Advisory Board Chair Ron Powell or call him at (828) 208-3057.

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution. Legacy Society members of The Yancey Fund include:

  • Susan and Bubba (Paul) Crutchfield
  • Peg Emerson
  • Jim and Margie Haaga
  • Beverly S. Hammond
  • Howell A. Hammond
  • Rebecca and Jonathan (Jason) Warner
  • Jay “Skip” Wilson, Carol P. Wilson, Jay M. Wilson, II

Since 1998, The Yancey Fund, in partnership with The Community Foundation, has awarded 113 grants totaling $1,100,123.

Thanks to Our Donors (7/1/2017 - 6/30/2018)

  • Mr. and Mrs. Jim Ashton
  • Mrs. Mary Bailey
  • Mr. W. Donald Baird
  • Dr. Gretchen Banks
  • Mr. and Mrs. Warren Bare
  • Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Barrus
  • Mrs. JoAnn Bass
  • Mr. and Mrs. Barry Bearden
  • Drs. Mark and Patricia Bennett
  • Mr. and Mrs. Frank M. Boka
  • Mr. and Mrs. Shane Briggs
  • Ms. Juanita Brown
  • Mr. and Mrs. George Burckley
  • Dr. and Mrs. Jerry D. Cade
  • Mr. and Mrs. Alex S. Campbell
  • Ms. Bonita Chandler
  • Mr. and Mrs. Mel Chin
  • Dr. Frances A. Coletta
  • Mr. and Mrs. Paul Crutchfield
  • Ms. Dorothy E. Crutchfield
  • Dr. and Mrs. Miguel A. Cruz
  • Mrs. Catherine T. Faller
  • Mr. and Mrs. Edward Feaver
  • Mr. and Mrs. David Fleckenstein
  • Mr. and Mrs. Todd Gatts
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jim Gentry
  • Dr. and Mrs. Najeeb O. Ghaussy
  • Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Giardina
  • Mr. and Mrs. Charles B. Gillespie
  • Dr. and Mrs. Trevor Goldberg
  • Mr. and Mrs. Elliott Grosh
  • Dr. and Mrs. James A. Haaga
  • Ms. Carolyn E. Hackney
  • Mr. and Mrs. Howell A. Hammond
  • Mrs. Barbara E. Hoffman
  • Mr. and Mrs. Mike Hoskins
  • Mr. and Mrs. F. Warren Hughes
  • Mr. and Mrs. Stephen W. James
  • Mr. and Mrs. John B. Kelly II
  • Mrs. Karin Kirkland
  • Dr. and Mrs. Paul Liebow
  • Dr. Susan MacLean
  • Ms. Susan Martin
  • Mr. and Mrs. Dennis Matelski
  • Ms. Alice Reynolds and Mr. Lee McDaniel
  • Mrs. Doris E. McFadden
  • Mr. Jamie L. McMahan
  • Mr. Jeffrey P. Morrill
  • Ms. Nancy Newberry
  • Mr. and Mrs. Randy Ollis
  • Mr. and Mrs. William Orosz
  • Mr. Drew Perrin
  • Mr. Carl Peverall and Dr. Elizabeth Peverall
  • Drs. Kelly Rothe and Jeff Polgar
  • Mr. and Mrs. Ron Powell
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bob Proffitt
  • Mr. and Mrs. John Ransom
  • Mr. and Mrs. Randy Raskin
  • Dr. and Mrs. Alan Ray
  • Mr. and Mrs. Fred D. Rickman Jr.
  • Rogers Group, Inc.
  • Mrs. Ann Sabri
  • Ms. Carol Schult
  • Mr. and Mrs. J. Sidney Boone Jr.
  • Mr. and Mrs. J. Ardell Sink
  • Mr. and Mrs. John D. Soffe
  • Mr. Greg Stella and Dr. Meri Stella
  • Ms. Lynne Stella
  • Mr. and Mrs. Clark Tibbits
  • Ms. Kathy J. Weisfeld
  • Mr. and Mrs. Armin L. Wessel
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jay M. Wilson
  • Dr. and Mrs. Arch Woodard
  • Mr. Alan Young
  • Mr. and Mrs. Earl S. Young
  • Mr. and Mrs. Fred Young
  • Anonymous

Contact Sheryl Aikman for more information about the Foundation’s Affiliate Program.