You can make a difference in Rutherford County by making a tax-deductible gift of cash, securities, life insurance or real estate. By pooling your gift with those of your neighbors, you can provide significant support for local needs.

Photo by Michael Oppenheim.

Meet Dick Wilkins

My family has worked with The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina for more than twenty years. My wife, Martha, passed away in 2013 and my children - Tim, Chris and Robin - and I wanted to honor her memory. With CFWNC’s help, we created the Martha Baker Wilkins Family Memorial Fund. This endowment will forever support the church Martha loved so much – St. Francis Episcopal Church in Rutherfordton – and we all trust in the Foundation’s permanent stewardship of our gift.

How to Donate

Donate online or send a check made out to "CFWNC" with "Rutherford County Endowment" in the memo line to the address below. (Please note that checks not made out to CFWNC may be returned.)

Mail checks to:

4 Vanderbilt Park Drive, Suite 300
Asheville, NC 28803
: Rutherford County Endowment

For more information, email Advisory Board Chair John Condrey.

The Legacy Society

The Legacy Society honors individuals who have arranged for a future gift to our affiliate in the form of a bequest, charitable remainder trust, charitable gift annuity, retirement assets, life insurance, life estate or other deferred contribution. Legacy Society members of the Rutherford County Endowment include:

  • James and Ellyn Tanner*
  • Lynne and Mike Tanner
  • Dick and Martha* Wilkins


Since 1996, the Rutherford County Endowment, in partnership with The Community Foundation, has awarded 198 grants totaling $1,458,353

Thanks to Our Donors (7/1/2018 - 6/30/2019)

  • Mr. and Mrs. Donald Bell
  • Mr. John Condrey
  • Mr. and Mrs. David Dahle
  • Mrs. Martha DeBrule
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bill Deviney
  • Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Elliott
  • Mr. and Mrs. William W. Hoy
  • Dr. and Mrs. H. B. Kernodle
  • Mrs. Joan E. King
  • Mrs. Dianne Lambert
  • Dr. and Mrs. Donald T. Lesher
  • Mr. Jack L. Lutz
  • Mr. and Mrs. Keven McCammon
  • Mrs. Margaret Miller
  • Mr. and Mrs. Tom Miller
  • Mr. and Mrs. Robert Moore
  • Mrs. Janice R. Paris
  • Mr. and Mrs. Michael S. Tanner
  • Mr. and Mrs. Audie Thompson
  • Dr. and Mrs. John Tolhurst
  • Mr. and Mrs. David Toney
  • Dr. and Mrs. Ernest Yelton

Contact Sheryl Aikman for more information about the Foundation’s Affiliate Program.